How many of you have experienced this: a song by one of your favorite artists just doesn’t resonate with you much, even if critics are raving about it or it’s scaled the charts and become a hit. Then, as you get older, the experience of life makes that same song become one of your favorites.
I was driving to New Jersey yesterday, listening to a massive CD collection I’ve prepared for a friend. The Mary Chapin Carpenter song “Almost Home” came on. Now, when it was first released, I basically just liked the melody and the “do do do’s” that comprised the hook. This time, the words seemed to perfectly capture where I am in life right now.
I’ve had similar experience with songs like “The River & The Highway” by Pam Tillis, “The Song Remembers When” by Trisha Yearwood, and more recently, “Thinking About Leaving” by Dwight Yoakam.
Now I’m sure there’s some songs that will never resonate with me -the crappy attempts at patriotic anthems that Toby Keith and Darryl Worley poisioned country radio with come to mind – but I’m amazed that even with their older music, my favorite artists can newly surprise me.