Tim McGraw & Faith Hill, “I Need You”

Most of the time, these two superstars just take turns singing backup and call it a duet. This is only the second full-fledged collaboration the two have done, the other being the treacly power ballad “Let’s Make Love.” This romantic plea is infinitely better, a fiery, pleading declaration of passion and need. McGraw sounds great using his lower register, but it’s Hill’s performance that sends this record soaring. I found myself, as most men probably do, wishing to take McGraw’s place.

This is the first time they’ve fully captured on record the chemistry that they have. I wouldn’t be shocked to see them win their third collaborative Grammy next February for this killer performance.

Grade: A

Listen: I Need You

Buy: I Need You

More Tim McGraw & Faith Hill:

Album Review: Tim McGraw, Let It Go

Single Review: Tim McGraw, “Last Dollar (Fly Away)”

Best Country Singles of 2006