820781_27735109.jpgWhile country music is widely known for its drinkin’, Cheatin’ and religious songs, love songs have a highly prominent place in the genre as well. In fact, I argue that country music is the home of the best love songs of all time.

What got me thinking about this topic is that Bill and I celebrate our 4-year anniversary today! I realize that it’s completely self indulgent, but I’d like to know your favorite country love songs.

Some of mine are:

  • Kathy Mattea, “Where’ve You Been?”
  • Martina McBride, “All The Things We’ve Never Done”
  • Randy Travis, “Forever And Ever Amen” & “Deeper Than The Holler”
  • Vince Gill, “Look At Us”
  • Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash, “It Takes One To Know Me”
  • John Denver, “Annie’s Song” (I may like John Berry’s version even better)
  • Mary Chapin Carpenter, “Grow Old With Me”
  • Josh Turner, “Angels Fall Sometimes”
  • George Strait, “Any Old Love Won’t Do”

Of course, that’s just the beginning of my list to get the conversation started.