There’s a Reba box set on the way this fall:

Reba McEntire has placed her name on the national country singles charts more than 90 times in her career, and she’s impressively honored with a three-disc retrospective this fall titled 50 Greatest Hits.

Set for release Oct. 21, the compilation covers the MCA portion of her resume, beginning with the 1984 album My Kind Of Country and extending through last year’s Duets. The Mercury period in her history, which ran from 1975-1984, gets passed over in this rather significant collection, which features liner notes penned by Reba herself.

This should be a good approach for her.   One of the failings of her #1’s collection was that some of her best singles weren’t chart-toppers.  This sounds all-inclusive.    Her Mercury years were already well chronicled, and all of her MCA hits collections have been underwhelming.    Covering her hits over 24 years will be a great listen.

I won’t buy the set, of course, since I have all of her hits already.   But I have bought a lot of box sets:  Patsy Cline, Emmylou Harris (2), Merle Haggard, Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash (2), Linda Ronstadt, Dwight Yoakam, Loretta Lynn, Tammy Wynette, Conway Twitty, Eddy Arnold, George Strait.   And those are just the country ones!

Believe it or not, my first box set was from Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons.   I was in third, maybe fourth grade, and I had Vol. 2 of a live cassette of them.   It was actually my dad’s, and he gave it to me because he didn’t know it was a live set when he bought it.  I listened to it initially because it had “Grease” on it, which I knew from my ONJ fandom.   I asked mom to pick me up Vol. 1 at the mall, if they had it.

She came home and said,  “Oh, they didn’t have it.  So I got you this instead.”  It was a 4-cassette box set that had just been released.  By the end of it, they were my favorite artists, and stayed that way until I discovered The Everly Brothers and The Beatles.  Yep, I was a cool kid.

What box sets do  you own?  Do you have a favorite among them?  Are you planning to by any more, Reba’s or someone else’s?